Skip to main content
shopping_basket Basket 0
Log in

In 2017 Electronics Weekly, in partnership with RS Components, launched an inspirational new awards programme to find and celebrate the most exceptional young electronics engineers in the UK. 

The winners were selected by a high-profile panel of judges including; Isabella Mascarenhas (IET’sYoung Professionals Engagement Manager), Tony Fish (co-founder FabLab London), Paul Hide (COO, techUK), Dr Lucy Rogers (Science Writer and Robot Wars judge), Lindsley Ruth (CEO, RS Components) and Richard Wilson (Editor, Electronics Weekly).


EW BrightSparks - Class of 2017

Chelsea Back, AB Open

Robert Blenkinsopp, Ultrahaptics

Josh Boakes, Convert

Josh Bowen, He-Man Dual Controls Ltd

Daniele Capocci, Nissan Technical Centre Europe

Shuran Chan, Self-employed

Saloni Chhabra, Cadence Design Systems

Andrew Cowan, Cobham Antenna Systems

Alex Croucher, GB Electronics (UK)

 Josh Elijah, Engimake

Calum Finn, Nestle

Benjamin Fitzpatrick, Dyson

Rob Green, Loughborough University

Daniel Harryman, Public sector technology and research organisation

James Hayman, Ametek

Keno Mario-Ghae, Imagination Technologies

Emilio Mistretta, University of Hertfordshire

Edward Nutting, University of Bristol

Sam Presley, University of Southampton / Dyson

Chris Shaw, Sensible Objects

Robert Smith, Plextek RFI

Roger Thornton, Raspberry Pi Organisation

Matt Timmons-Brown, The Raspberry Pi Guy

Tim Wiles, Peratech

John Alton, Lascar Electronics

Sherzaad Dinah, Nissan Technical Centre Europe

Ryan Dunwoody, Pi-Top

Jacob Marsh, ModMyPi

Lewis Osborne, JME

Thank you to all who took the time to take part in the programme, especially those who nominated third-parties.

The EW BrightSparks programme encouraged all individuals to nominate either themselves, or anyone else that they have worked with who they feel have already made a big impact, or who a showing exceptional potential, as they start their career in electronics engineering.

Meet the Judges

Richard Wilson – Editor, Electronics Weekly

Lindsley Ruth – CEO, Electrocomponents PLCPaul Hide - techUK chief

Dr Lucy Rogers – Engineering Consultant & Judge on BBC’s Robot Wars

Tony Fish – co-founder of FabLab London

Mamta Singhal – Freelance Design Engineer, Mentor & IET Spokesperson

Paul Hide - COO of techUK

Isabella Mascarenhas, Young Professionals Engagement Manager at the IET

Related Articles - The Cream of the Crop: EW BrightSparks Award Winners 2017

DesignSpark is your go-to engineering design platform from RS Components, providing free CAD software, online resources, and design support. Our flagship CAD software includes DesignSpark PCB, DesignSpark Mechanical and DesignSpark Electrical. Join our community at
DesignSpark Electrical Logolinkedin