Skip to main content
shopping_basket Basket 0
Log in

The Cream of the Crop: EW BrightSparks Award Winners 2017

Huge congratulations from RS Components to the EW BrightSparks class of 2017.

The 29 exceptionally worthy winners wowed our judging panel with their innovative ideas, brilliant creativity and a clear focus on efficiency.


EW BrightSparks Class of 2017

RS Components partnered with Electronics Weekly on its EW BrightSparks programme to celebrate the achievements of the UK’s most talented young electronics design engineers to help to inspire and encourage new entrants to the industry.

Lindsley Ruth, CEO of RS Components, spoke at the event expressing his concerns at the increasing shortage of skilled engineers entering the industry. “Our changing world means more of our lives are connected, automated and supported by electronics, increasing our requirements for engineering expertise.

The opportunities for youngsters considering engineering as a career path are huge. Engineering offers the opportunity to contribute to the economy and make a massive difference in improving people’s lives in a multitude of ways.”


 Lindsley Ruth, CEO, RS Components and Josh Brookes, Publisher, Electronics Weekly

Winners include the engineer responsible for the complex product design of Imagination Technologies’ Ci20 board; the creator of the educational QuadBot robot; a consulting engineer designing MMICs for prototype 5G systems; a contract engineer leading the head-up display test function at Nissan; a PhD Researcher focusing on smart buildings; a designer for ‘Beasts of Balance’, a digital board game hybrid – and these represent just a few of the exceptional winning entrants.

Here is the full list of 2017 EW BrightSparks, Design Engineers of Tomorrow:

  • John Alton, Lascar Electronics
  • Chelsea Back, AB Open
  • Robert Blenkinsopp, Ultrahaptics
  • Josh Boakes, Convert
  • Josh Bowen, He-Man Dual Controls Ltd
  • Daniele Capocci, Nissan Technical Centre Europe
  • Shuran Chan, Self-employed
  • Saloni Chhabra, Cadence Design Systems
  • Andrew Cowan, Cobham Antenna Systems
  • Alex Croucher, GB Electronics (UK)
  • Sherzaad Dinah, Nissan Technical Centre Europe
  • Ryan Dunwoody, Pi-Top
  • Josh Elijah, Engimake
  • Calum Finn, Nestle
  • Benjamin Fitzpatrick, Dyson
  • Rob Green, Loughborough University
  • Daniel Harryman, Public sector technology and research organisation
  • James Hayman, Ametek
  • Keno Mario-Ghae, Imagination Technologies
  • Jacob Marsh, ModMyPi
  • Emilio Mistretta, University of Hertfordshire
  • Edward Nutting, University of Bristol
  • Lewis Osborne, JME
  • Sam Presley, University of Southampton / Dyson
  • Chris Shaw, Sensible Objects
  • Robert Smith, Plextek RFI
  • Roger Thornton, Raspberry Pi Organisation
  • Matt Timmons-Brown, The Raspberry Pi Guy
  • Tim Wiles, Peratech


RS will bring you interviews, news and views from our EW BrightSparks in the coming weeks – watch this space!


DesignSpark Community Manager and all-around geek girl.
DesignSpark Electrical Logolinkedin